top of page

Movie vs. Book: The Fault in Our Stars

R-*****There are spoilers in this post (sorry)**** I love the fault in our stars, and all of us- me, A, S,and M- all went to go see the exciting movie last week. The movie was amazing! Some people called it the best book to movie ever, but I don’t quite agree with that. I really think the producers of this movie almost got everything perfect, the main details anyway. They did let M and I down a little when they missed some of the little details. They forgot Hazel’s friend, Augustus’s ex girlfriend, the wine on the plane, and of course all the cute little sayings. Like when Hazel and Gus were eating dinner at Oranjee nobody called out to them “The beautiful couple is beautiful.” Also in the book I almost cried when Gus died, but in the movie it was plain and blunt. Like in the book: Line: “Augustus Waters died 8 days later” Me: What No! Re-read line a million times, before I look up and take a deep breath and except the truth, but in the movie: Line: “Augustus Waters died 8 days later” Me: Okay, continue with the movie. The only parts that made me sad in the movie was when Hazel read her eulogy and when Hazel read the letter Gus wrote to Peter Van Houten. Over all I loved the movie and the effects, the way they showed the texting was brilliant. I also loved the way they showed Gus throughout his bad times. In the book I felt kind of disgusted and distant from Gus and in the movie I really didn’t want to see him all sad and depressed with puke all over him, but luckily they didn’t show it. They showed his bad times, and you could see him drifting off but you never had to see his dinner come up out of him and I was very grateful for that. I would watch this movie again and again and I can’t wait for the dvd. Other than the minor details this movie was excellent, watch it! Book to Movie rating 4.3 bites!

Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page