top of page

The Thrilling "A King's Cage"

S- I recently completed the The King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard, the third installment in the Red Queen series. The series takes place in a dystopian universe in which those with red blood are subservient to those with silver blooded super-humans. It centers on Mare, who finds herself a silver-blood in a family and community of red-bloods. The previous book, Glass Sword, had ended on a cliffhanger as the main character Mare surrendered herself to the tyrant Maven. This book did an outstanding job of maintaining the momentum of the first two. It was special in that it included three points-of-views. Given the two alternating perspectives in the book Allegiant by Veronica Roth and my displeasure with it, this was something that I was initially doubtful of. However, Aveyard was able to weave the voices in a way that added to the flow of the story. Overall, I say it was a thrilling read, with twists that even the most dedicated fan could not have predicted. Another favorite feature of mine was the increase in unity amongst the characters, making it feel like the family me and others so desired. And while I won't reveal the ending, Aveyard did an exceptional job of making us hungry for the next book. I look forward to delving into it!


Featured
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page